EconSouth (Fourth Quarter 2008)


Lynne Anservitz
Editorial Director

Lynn Foley
Tom Heintjes
Managing Editors

Julie Hotchkiss
Contributing Editor

Galina Alexeenko
Andrew Flowers
Laurel Graefe
Mike Hammill
Sandra Kollen
Whitney Mancuso
Kate Rees
Navnita Sarma
Menbere Shiferaw
Gustavo Uceda
Larry Wall
Contributing Writers

Peter Hamilton

Editorial Committee

Bobbie H. McCrackin
VP and Public Affairs Officer

Thomas J. Cunningham
VP and Associate Director of Research

John C. Robertson
VP, Research Department Regional Section

Pierce Nelson
AVP and Public Information Officer

Use the WebScriber service to request free subscriptions and additional copies or for change of address notices.

The views expressed in EconSouth are not necessarily those of the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta or the Federal Reserve System.

Reprinting or abstracting material from this publication is permitted provided that EconSouth is credited and a copy of the publication containing the reprinted material is sent to the Public Affairs Department.

Public Affairs Department
Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta
1000 Peachtree Street, N.E.
Atlanta, Georgia 30309-4470

ISSN 0899-6571

Editor's note: Throughout this issue, Southeast refers to the six states that, in whole or in part, make up the Sixth Federal Reserve District: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Tennessee.